The Thousand Teeth

"Pain with the thousand teeth" –Sir William Watson

Finnegan, Begin Again

on April 19, 2010

Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.
–Maria Robinson

I get up every morning and read all the RA blogs. Okay, not all of them, but quite a lot of them. Every day someone out there surprises me with something I didn’t know about this disease or the drugs that I’m taking or just an outlook about something that I’d never have thought of myself. So thank you, people. I love “spending time with you” even though we don’t know each other in real life.

This morning a couple of my favorite bloggers wrote about their struggles with diet and exercise. I have to admit here, now, that I haven’t been to the gym in a week or so. I spent all last week with yet another sinus infection and I felt sorry for myself, so I stayed home and ate Easter candy. My face still hurts this morning and there’s been a big weather change so it’s cool & it’s rainy & I’m achy all over, so I had a nice day all planned of staying in bed & folding laundry while watching movies.

Not now. I made myself a healthy breakfast (a half-whole-wheat blueberry pancake topped with local wildflower honey, a slice of turkey bacon, and a couple mugs of organic chai tea sweetened with organic stevia – I’m not a big breakfast eater). For lunch, instead of reheated pizza, I’ll make some chicken salad (rotisserie chicken, no skin, with apples, celery, almonds, & just a bit of light mayo & plain yogurt to stick it together). For after school snack, instead of doritos (not mine, my mom sent them home with the kids, actually), we’ll have blackberries & milk. For dinner, well, we’ll have what’s already on the menu: grilled salmon with broccoli & cous-cous.

Now I’ll go get started getting ready to head to the gym. I may not do a full workout, but I’m going to get started and see how it goes from there. Thanks for the inspiration Warm Socks & Wren! :)

5 responses to “Finnegan, Begin Again

  1. Michelle says:

    You go girl!! Good for you!

  2. Wren says:

    You realize that now I have to grab Finny and go for another walk, right? And that instead of a PBJ for brekky, it’s oatmeal, right? And for lunch/dinner, a salad and chicken breast and broccoli, right?

    Thanks for your kind and encouraging comment on my blog. You just don’t know how much it helps to know that others do care. Well, I care too. And I’m sending the encouragement back at you, along with lots of warmth and comfort regarding your RA pain. Yep, we CAN do this.

    Have a wonderful, empowered day.

    • awamiba says:

      Thanks for the encouragement, Wren! I feel the same way about the encouragement I’ve been getting here. It’s really good to know that others are out there keeping an eye on you and rooting for you, too. :)

  3. WarmSocks says:

    :) Together, we can do this! Thank you for your encouraging words.

    I’m just curious, how do you fold laundry in bed?

    Congratulations on making to the gym today. I hope your achiness is soon a thing of the past!

    • awamiba says:

      How I fold laundry in bed: First I smooth the comforter all the way across the bed, then pile the laundry onto one quarter of the bed, near the top. I climb into the middle of the bed, under the covers, pillows piled up high behind me (for leaning on when I get tired). I grab clothes (which have already had the non-foldables weeded out into another basket) from the right and fold & pile to the left. I can’t reach all the way to all the piles, but I’ve been doing it this way long enough that I have fairly good aim to toss stuff towards the right pile. I start out upright and productive and by the time I’m too tired to fold more, usually the show I’m watching (currently season 2 of Chuck) is over and there’s time to catch a 30 minute nap while the kiddo is still resting (or more likely playing quietly in his bedroom).

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

