The Thousand Teeth

"Pain with the thousand teeth" –Sir William Watson

Infusions…oh the joy

on January 4, 2013
IMG_2696

Me in the infusion chair at my doctor’s office. I totally forgot to bring any entertainment today and had to rely on the elderly magazines, as my phone died after this picture was taken. So sad. ;)

I had another infusion of Orencia today.  I was really excited to see my old infusion nurse there. I asked about the old-new infusion nurse, if she was taking vacation days, but she is GONE, which mightily made me happy.  Apparently other people had complained about her.  I hadn’t, as I hadn’t wanted to seem whiny, but the truth of it was that she was not careful with me and she insisted trying veins that I knew and told her would not work for me. *sigh*  So the old infusion nurse is back.  YAY!

Unfortunately my best vein is no longer my best vein.  Something happened to it while she was off working in x-ray land and now it has a kink in it.  It could ease out or I could be left without this happy vein as an option.  Who knows.  I’d like it to repair itself.  Having the infusion in my other arm impedes my ability to get things done during my infusion, like writing, and I’m really trying hard to get back in the habit of daily writing again.

Anyway, I talked to my doctor about the flushing and heat issues I’m having.  He hadn’t heard of anything like that, but the nurse later told me that she hears that complaint all the time from other patients, so now I’m a bit confused.  Has anyone else heard of this?  I’m pretty much constantly feeling overheated and I work up a sweat quite easily.  I can’t find anything on the internet on my searches, but maybe y’all have heard something?

I see my primary care physician next week for my usual round of bloodwork and stuff.  I’m going to ask him about it and also about how to lose weight.  It seems like every time I hit the gym I end up with an infection or complication of some sort, so I’m going to ask for his advice on what to do.  It would really ease my pain to weigh less, but I’m going to need some help.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

