The Thousand Teeth

"Pain with the thousand teeth" –Sir William Watson

Physicals…

on January 9, 2013

Physicals, or check-ups as I like to call them, are so delightful.  This time around they had a totally new computer system that wanted to know my height and blood oxygen levels and whether I was left or right handed.  Woo hoo.  Apparently I’m an inch taller than I think I am.  I pointed out that the last time I’d had my height measured I’d been 18 and barefoot, but the nurse did not care.  5 foot 5 is my new height. It’s in the computer so it’s official. Well, okay, then.

 

Other new things:

- More blood work.  Fasting.  Tomorrow.  Oh yay.

- I need to lose at least 20 pounds.  Me: “Yes, I know, but it’s very hard to lose weight when you spend quite a lot of time not being in any condition to exercise properly.  Isn’t there anything else we could try?” Doctor: “Since you have a heart condition….”  Me: “Wait, what?!”

-I have a heart condition.  Undescribed.  Awaiting some test results.  No big deal.  Umm….

- (back to the weight loss woes) “… you can’t have drugs to help that along.”  I can, and should: walk, do low-impact exercise, swim, etc, and eat healthy.  Which I’m already doing, but I’ll try harder.  Maybe I’ll just travel everywhere with whole grain bread and tea and carrots.  Why not?

- The doctor checked EVERYTHING, even my swallowing and listening to my throat at rest.  I have no idea what that was about; he’s never done it before and frankly at this point I couldn’t handle anything else.

- My left side is way less limber than my right side.  (Wherein I realized that my rheumatologist never does range of motion checks any more.  Hmm.)  Arm, leg, protesting.  Which is weird because it’s my less grouchy side, at least the side that generally hurts less.

 

I think that’s it.  More than enough.

 

One response to “Physicals…

  1. Wren says:

    Yay, you! You grew an inch! ;) Generally, as we age, we get shorter, but as you said, “Well, okay then.” Actually, I hate physicals. Not because they’re so all encompassing, but because I worry that the doc will find something scary wrong with me–and she never does. Well, except for the RA, but that’s obvious.

    I hope all is well with the blood test and that your doctor will be a little more forthcoming with the mystery “heart condition.” It’s the sort of thing one worries about. Sending, smiles, calm and patience your way.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

