The Thousand Teeth

"Pain with the thousand teeth" –Sir William Watson

TMI, perhaps

on February 12, 2013

Menfolk beware: this is a post about feminine things.

 

La canne feminine auXVIIIe sicle

Not this kind, but space provided for the squeamish. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ladies, do any of you RA’ers have any experience with early onset peri-menopause?  I’ve been having wonky periods (light, late, non-existent, all of the above! And no, not pregnant.) after years of having heavy, cramp-filled ones.  I’ve called the doctor about it, but her nurse just passed on the info that I’m too young for that (which is not what I’ve read in my online research), but that I could come in next month for some hormone level tests.

So if you have any information you’d like to pass on, please do below in the comments or you can email me at:

a w a m i b a @ g m a i l . c o m (without the spaces).

Thanks y’all!

 

4 responses to “TMI, perhaps

  1. Wren says:

    My menopause started when I was 38, but I had a partial hysterectomy (uterus only) when I was 32, so that might have caused my early menopause. Or maybe it was my RA. I did a quick google search, “RA and early menopause” and a fairly long list of sites addressing the subject came up. Apparently having an autoimmune disease CAN cause hormone problems and bring on early menopause, but more study is needed. Check this site: http://womenshealth.gov/menopause/early-premature-menopause/ or look at some of the others that come up in the search.

    Your gynogologist is the person–along with your rheumatologist–who can give you the best info about this. Testing hormone levels makes sense.

    Wishing you the best, as always. :)

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

