Insurance and payment woes

I’ve spent the last couple of weeks hanging out on the phone talking to various people at Orencia, and Caremark Mail Order Pharmacy, the local hospital, and two of my doctor’s offices.  Back and forth and back and forth.  “Please will you give me this information?”  “Please will you put this information into my account?”  “Please will you just let me pay for Heaven’s sake?!?!”  It’s been such fun.  Delightful, even.

 

For one of the annoying things, my doctor’s office held onto my Orencia support card, promising to give Caremark the info when they called in the prescription.  Alas, they did not.  Caremark was not paid by the support people and I was not paying them because I thought the support people were and the doctor’s office people said that they never hold onto those cards and have no idea why I thought they had mine. “I have a note on my piece of paper from that appointment.  I wrote down that you took my card.  I can’t help that you no longer have it.”  So onto calling Orencia, where I was transferring three times and made to recite my entire lineage practically to get the numbers…well, two of the three numbers.  I didn’t have an actual card in hand, so I had no idea there were supposed to be three, which the Caremark lady assured me that there were.  So again with the song and dance and transferring around to get the final number.  Then calling back Caremark yet again with the numbers, only to be told that I called one day too late and that my shipment would never arrive by my next infusion appointment.  So I call the doctor’s office again and find out that mysteriously my appointment is not until next week, contrary to the appointment card I have in my hand (and also, I’m the second one mis-scheduled  this morning).  So yay?

 

The other annoying thing was at another doctor’s office.  This particular office houses many doctor’s, more than they have office clerks for out front.  There are always lines, always delays, and they always tell me that they’ll bill me by mail because there’s a line for the one and only credit card machine in the building.  Seriously, I will buy them another machine myself, it is so very annoying.  Anyways, I only see this doctor about once a year for my annual exam, so I don’t think about them much.  Until the phone calls start.    Someone called and wanted me to come into the office to pay.  No, they wouldn’t take payment by phone; they weren’t the billing office.  I needed to COME IN.  So I got in my car, drove up to the still ridiculously busy office, and attempted to make a payment…where once again I was asked to pay by mail.  I even offered cash.  They don’t like cash. *sigh*  So I go home.  I get another call from the same woman asking me to come in and pay.  At this point I’m feeling testy.  I refuse.  I am not driving up there again to be thwarted by the office staff.  No.  A few days later a woman from the billing office of the main hospital calls me and asks for payment.  I say “Really?  You’ll let me pay?  Please let me pay!”  The woman laughed hysterically at that.  I told her my story and she was astonished.  She also said she’d investigate getting that office another credit card machine.

 

Anyway, that’s my crazy month.  What’s going on in yours?

 

