More about me…

…cause it’s all about me.  😉  Just kidding, but I thought you’d like to know a bit more about me than I put on my About Me page.

On the RA front, I was diagnosed with RA five years ago after dealing with various symptoms for the last 10 years (numbness & tingling?  check.  six trillion cases of bursitis, tendinitis, etc? check.  Jaw pain when chewing?  Check.  Mysterious chest pain neither heart related nor lung related? check.).  I’ve tried various combinations of hydroxychloroquine (Plaquenil), sulfasalazine (Azulfidine), methotextrate (Rheumatrex), etanercept (Enbrel), celecoxib (Celebrex), prednisone, and golimumab (Simponi).  I usually last about a year on one of the big drugs before having to add in something else and eventually giving up on it, as my system ends up getting immune to stuff fairly quickly.  I’m currently taking methotextrate, Celebrex, & Simponi (along with a daily woman’s multi-vitamin, omega-3 with DHA, fiber pills, and folic acid).  I spend about four months (not concurrently) of the year needing extra support, like wrist & finger & knee & ankle braces, etc, while the rest of the year I can get by with just the usual adjustments (ergonomic kitchen tools, extra stools throughout the house for legs & feet, pumped shampoos & soaps, special keyboard & mouse & pens, etc).

In regular life, I am technically called a stay at home mom (hereon referred to as SAHM).  That being said, I am a regular volunteer at my older children’s school, on the substitute list for my youngest child’s Mother’s Day Out (hereon referred to as MDO), on the steering team of my local Mothers of Preschoolers (hereon referred to as MOPS), a member of a monthly book club (no longer running it, yay!), and I help out with the kids Sabbath School every week or so (whenever they have it).  All of which is a long way of saying that I don’t actually get home a whole lot  unless we’re sick.

I have a husband, who’s an engineer in the petroleum industry, & three boy children.  The husband is awesome.  He’s like a superhero who takes care of a sick wife & the kids when the wife is sick & still manages to do great at work & try to save the environment in his spare time.  The kids are awesome, too.  The oldest is a third grader who’s obsessed with all things Star Wars and math/science.  The middle one is a kindergartener who loves everything and everyone and is constantly making presents for everybody.  The youngest is three and has hit that hysterically funny stage and will climb anything at all, no fear.

I’m also a scrapbooker, an avid reader, a jewelry designer (when I get commissions), and an aspiring novelist (these days I write YA Fantasy; I also write poetry & short fiction).  So, when I am home, I am busy there as well.  I don’t really have time to really think a whole lot about my RA.  Who really has time for a chronic disease, though?

