Pushing a car up a hill

Bless a thing and it will bless you. Curse it and it will curse you…If you bless a situation, it has no power to hurt you, and even if it is troublesome for a time, it will gradually fade out, if you sincerely bless it.
–Emmet Fox

I have this problem with superhero tendencies. I like to help people. I mean, reallyreally like to help people.

A friend calls & says they can’t make it somewhere because she’s lacking car seats? I’ll drive 40 minutes to her house, pick her & her kids up, drive back into town, do whatever they need to do, then take them back home.  Even though more than 30 minutes driving kills me.  Because she needs to go out so she won’t go crazy.  I’ve been there and I know what a blessing it is to have someone just take the time to be with me when I’m in that mood.

A teacher needs help organizing her new classroom in the new school building? I am there all day long: bending, carrying heavy things, kneeling. All those things that require pain therapy afterward.  I can be a blessing behind the scenes and also get a preview of the new school.

A committee (or two or three) needs someone to fill a hole in next years roster? I’m the secretary or the librarian or the historian or the community coach (all of those and more).  I answer the call, do the work, am happy to help.  I can be a blessing just by showing up.

Kids church school needs phone calls made and results tallied? Someone to sing with the kids? Costumes made at the last minute? That’s all stuff I do, too.  It’s not just that I’m the SAHM; they all know that I will do what it takes to make the program work.  We all do, but I have more time than the others because I do not work outside the home (hahaha).  I can bless the kids and at the same time show them how to be a blessing to others.

So when the car in front of me yesterday started spinning its wheels trying to get up and around the curved hill horseshoe where we pick up the kids every day, naturally I got out of my van to help. The woman inside was panicking and didn’t know what to do. I had her put the car in neutral while I pushed. Yes, there were other people in other cars who could have helped, but they weren’t getting out of their cars. Yes, we could have all backed up enough for her to go into neutral & back down the hill that way, but that would have required 40 cars to back up first and who would have been the one walking along asking all those cars to move (go ahead, you know the answer).

So yesterday I pushed a car up a hill. And today (and last night) I’m paying for it. But I’d do it again in a heartbeat. I like to help people now, while I’m still able. I don’t want to wait until the pain is gone (it’ll never be gone) to start. I don’t want to worry about the consequences and say no because there may be more pain afterward.  I want to do all that I can while I can. I want to be a blessing to others now.

