Computer update

For everything you have missed, you have gained something else, and for everything you gain, you lose something else.
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Earlier this week I changed my computer set-up and I promised you all an update on it: we still like it.

However, there have been a few issues with standing up computing: 1) The kids cannot use the computer without express permission and only under parental observation.  2) My husband has realized that he missed quite a bit of his favorite TV show in the last few months and he’s trying to catch up by watching them on the computer and standing in one place for an hour at a time is not that comfortable. 3) I hadn’t realized how much I relied on my computer time as “rest” time during the day. 4) Unless I wear my tennis shoes while at the computer, my feet & legs really start hurting.

Our solutions so far have been: 1) to move the kitchen stool over for the kids to sit on, although that doesn’t help as much with the screen being up too high.  Don’t know what to do about that just yet.  2) Husband also perched on something to watch his shows.  3) I’ve spent less time on the computer and instead spend my rest time reading (which is good because my book club partner needs her book back on Saturday) or playing the piano (which makes me happy!). 4) I am going out on Sunday to get better every-day-shoes.

That all being said, I have noticed an improvement in my posture in the last week.  I’ve spent less time frustrated because of tripping over the chair/cords/etc.  I’m more intentional about what I do on the internet and think more about what I’m going to post on my blogs before I get to the computer and start typing.

All in all, this has been a successful change.  🙂

