New & different all at the same time

There’s only one corner of the universe you can be certain of improving, and that’s your own self.

–Aldous Huxley


I have always wanted to be a writer.  As a young girl, I had notebook upon notebook where I’d write my little stories, letters, poems, and draw little (always bad) pictures to go with them.  I’ve nearly always kept a diary of some sort, be it on paper or online.  I write because it is who I am.  I am a writer.  To date I have written around 400 poems (not including anything written before age 14), 3 first drafts of novels, and a ton of unpaid articles for various local newsletters.  But I’m not published…and that’s kind of a goal of mine.  I’d like to finish something that took longer than a few hours to throw out there.

That being the case, I’m currently taking a two year novel writing course online. The whole thing goes completely backwards to how my mind works usually, but how my mind works usually hasn’t gotten me past a few bad first drafts, so I’m willing to try something new in hopes of something fabulous happening.  It’s been hard work, writing character descriptions and motivations and world building without the convenient flow of story carrying me onward, but I work at it a little at a time and try to wrap my mind around the homework assignments.

Also in the category of trying old things a new way: I’m joining a gym with the goal of losing weight and getting in better shape.  For years and years I’ve taken a daily (or as close to it as I can manage) walk and done some at home yoga or pilates videos, but I’m not getting anywhere with them.  The doctors all say that every pound of weight I lose will take four pounds of pressure off my knees.  I think my knees (and ankles & feet) would really like that.  However, I’m really phobic about going to a gym.  Not only do I have all these health issues, but the pretty people in the gym terrify me, as do all those shiny reflective surfaces.  But the way things are going right now, I haven’t lost any weight at all; in fact, I seem to keep gaining it.  So I’m on a week’s free pass at a local gym starting today.  I’ll be going to the least scary gym I can find (several people have called and told me it’s a fine gym, but wouldn’t I rather go to this shiny place with 9 billion classes?  Umm…no) and taking a yoga class with real live people and using machines that aren’t my Wii balance board to work out on (probably just the elliptical, actually, but that’s more than I’m doing right now).  I know it’s not going to be easy and there’ll definitely be days that I can’t make it to actually work out, but at the very least, I’d like to be able to show up there & give it a try.  If I can’t work out, well, there’s always the sauna, right?

4 thoughts on “New & different all at the same time

  1. Wren says:

    Hello to another writer! I think it’s wonderful that you’re taking that two-year class — and on writing a novel, no less! What a great way to learn the rules, which of course are made for you to break in the most beautiful way one day. And congrats on joining the gym, too. I understand completely your reluctance; I also feel inadequate among all those skinny folks. (I was skinny once for about 35 minutes, back in 1979.) But the benefits are so worth it for so many reasons — not least that slimming down reduces the strain on your hips, knees and feet, and exercise strengthens those vital muscles holding the joints in place. Here’s wishing you the best. I hope you’re feeling well. Have a great weekend!

    • Hello Wren! I am loving my writing class -and- my gym both! I was also once skinny, back in high school. Or maybe not skinny, but closer by miles than now. 😉

  2. Like you, I’ve kept notebooks all my life, and have written lots and lots of stories, unfinished novels, etc. It’s always been just a hobby, but I’d like to do more with it. I just published an article for a music magazine – very happy about that! – but fiction is what I really love to write.

    I’d love to know more about this online novel writing class! Can you share some info? If you don’t want to post it here, you can email me. Thanks!

    • Hello Remicade Dream! I love your blog and all your entries about being a musician. When I was in high school I really thought long and hard about going that route, as I played piano, flute, and clarinet in all kinds of bands & orchestras in my home town. But I started having issues, even back then, with chest inflammation and couldn’t keep up with the flute & clarinet. I lost my nerve and dropped piano as well and went to a college that basically had no music program to speak of. I still have all my instruments (plus a few more besides) and am teaching my kids to play now. I’m really impressed that you are able to do all that you do musically.

      The online novel class I’m taking is called 2YN and it’s on fmwriters.com. It started in January and apparently recurs every January. There are other free (and some that cost) classes on there as well. I like the teachers (Some I’ve known online for the last 10 years) and the supportive environment of the class. 🙂

Comments are closed.