Quickly decided, quickly changed?

“The risk of a wrong decision is preferable to the terror of indecision.”

–Maimonides

Last week while out with a friend, we decided to peruse the best thrift store in town.  We usually just go for the book section, but I was feeling in the mood to repaint something (I’m weird, I know), so I hit the tchotchke & furniture section.  There usually isn’t any furniture I’m even vaguely interested in, but this week there was a row of office desk chairs, the kind that go up & down in various ways, and they did, in fact, go up & down in their various ways, plus it rolls.  The price was right ($14), the chair was sturdy, and the sticker on the bottom (Property of the State Attorney General) was amusing enough that the chair went home with me.  I know, I know, I said that I loved my standing-up desk arrangement, but to be completely honest, I was starting to have a lot of ankle & foot pain all the time.  As soon as I saw those chairs, I knew it was just what I needed.  So we’re about a week in to the new new arrangement, with the monitor a still a little higher than it was, and with a stool under my feet so they don’t dangle, and everything is good.

In other news, the exercising is going well.  I’ve been up at the gym four times in 6 days -one day off for Sabbath, one day off because I had a meeting during the gyms childcare hours (plus I was having that day where the pain of just existing was making me cry).  Obviously the gym is not too scary.  I’m doing 20 minutes of stretching, a circuit around the weight machines (on their lightest settings – arms one day, legs the next, chest & abs another), and 15 minutes on the elliptical.  I’ve been befriended by the regulars that go during the hour or so that I’m there, people that are somewhere in between my parents age & my grandparents age.  One man made up a song about how pretty & nice I am (he does it for everyone, but it turned out that he used to work with my husband) and one lady told me that the best way to learn the machines is to follow the trainers around while they’re training someone else.  I got introduced around to the other 8-10am regulars.  There’s a real community feeling there that I haven’t experienced other places I’ve worked out in the past.

However, this  gym does have it’s down sides.  Yesterday I went over around 12:30 and found the gate locked.  I drove around to the other side and got in, but there were a bunch of people milling around by the door.  No one had come to open up yet, even though the gym was supposed to open at noon. A few people were unperturbed, as the girl that normally opens on Sunday usually arrives late.  Nevertheless, they started  calling around to their trainers, trying to get someone up to open the doors when we discovered that the childcare door was unlocked.  We obtained trainer permission to get started while someone was driving over, which turned out to be a good thing, as I was done with my workout by the time someone did get there (and then it was 3 people at once).    As I was leaving, the yoga instructor came over and hugged me, telling me that it’s always something or other going wrong, but here there were always a few extra as well, that’s why there’s such a low membership price.  *boggle*  I talked it over with the spouse, as he’s the one that goes up when the gym first opens all the rest of the days, and he says he’s had no such problems the other days, so I think we’ll keep on with this gym regardless, and just know that we should arrive later on Sunday, maybe go when there’s a class so we know the building will be open.

All that being said, I won’t be going back to the gym today.  My husband lost his card in the wash (we think), so he took mine this morning.  I’m going to try out the running portion of the Wii Fit (which I’ve never done before) and do my yoga video, actually paying attention to what the moves are called this time, and some strength training exercises using bands (that I had done before in therapy, but forgotten about until I found instructions for them online).  I’m trying to keep up and exercise somehow most days.  I’m giving myself the Sabbath off and one other day because I have meetings (but that day is also conveniently in the middle of the week), so I’ll be working out 5 days a week.  I hope.  If I can keep it up.  I’d really like to lose at least 30 pounds by the end of the year.  That’s a reasonable goal, right?

One thought on “Quickly decided, quickly changed?

  1. Wren says:

    30 pounds, dropped slowly and mindfully, sounds quite reasonable to me over a 10-month period. Bravo for you, getting 6 out of 7 days in at the gym! That’s wonderful for anyone, let alone someone coping with RA. You’re an inspiration!

Comments are closed.