This is what I have to look forward to?

“Science may have found a cure for most evils; but it has found no remedy for the worst of them all — the apathy of human beings.”

— Helen Keller

Most of my friends lists have been up in arms about this journal entry, written by a 29-year-old disabled woman, about her difficulties with a particular airline.  (Go on, read it.  I’ll wait here.)

I’m just appalled at this.  Not just the fact that the airport failed, or that the stewardess failed, or the supervisor was rude & unsympathetic, but that all those people failed, too.  Except for that one nice man, people rushed past her and didn’t offer help or a kind word.  They made faces and bumped into her and treated her, not like a person, but like an object that had to be gone around.

What is wrong with these people?

I’m not disabled yet.  I hide my illness well.  I have a fabulous husband that helps me with, well, just about everything.  But what if I were to have to travel alone in the future?  I hear stories like this all around me and I get scared.


4 thoughts on “This is what I have to look forward to?

    • It is now fixed! I find it funny how my blog stats say that 22 people clicked that link and only one person mentioned it was broken. Thanks! 🙂

  1. carol says:

    Your comments encouraged me to visit the link about the United flight incident. It was a truly sad story.

    While my husband and I have ever experienced anything quite that bad, we have certainly been faced with unkindness, people refusing to step aside to allow him to get through (not to get ahead of them…as in a line, just to get past)

    On occasion, I have observed people standing in the middle of a grocery isle looking at shelves, then turn and see him, and turn back and continue looking without moving one step.

    I just wonder if many people are so terribly stressed and unhappy in their lives that they fail to see how their small acts of kindness or compassion can find their way back and offer relief for their own suffering.

  2. Thanks for commenting, Carol. I see those kind of people at the grocery store here as well. 😦 I try to turn it into a lesson for my children, “Look, when you see someone in a wheelchair or on a scooter or with a walker, YOU move out of the way because you are able to move more easily than they are.” The older ones do it automatically now, but we’re working on the three-year-old. I like to think that these conversations improve the lives of others as well when they hear them in the aisles at the grocery.

Comments are closed.