A Blog Award!

The Fabulous Sugar Doll Blogger Award in scrolly blue, white, & fuschia text on a baby pink background

This morning Remicade Dream bestowed “The Fabulous Sugar Doll Blogger Award” on me.  I live in the south, so I’ve been called “Sugar Doll” before, but I’ve never won a blog award before, so this is very exciting to me!  🙂

According to the rules of this award, I’m supposed to tell you ten unusual things about me that you don’t know, and then nominate five blogs for the award.  I’m not sure that there’s anything left that the internet doesn’t already know about me, but I’ll give it a try!

Ten “unusual” things about me:

1. As a small child, I thought that I could communicate with my dad through a crystal (which really was a broken off bit of reflective material from a bicycle) while he was away on a trip.  I’m pretty sure that my mom told me I could.  I remember telling that crystal everything while he was gone on his various trips after that.

2.  My dad is a math professor, famous in his particular field, so we spent a lot of time traveling here, there, everywhere for conferences.  I got to take a whole month off in 3rd grade to go live in Europe, thereby missing my first piano recital.  It was awesome.

3. I spent most of my childhood with lots of brilliant foreigners around, nearly all of whom treated me like I was just a short adult.  I mostly hung back and watched & listened, but it was so very nice being a mascot to genius’.

4. In addition to wanting to be a writer, I wanted to be a classical musician, composer, and artist.  I’m still pretty good at music, but I have no artistic (drawing, painting) skill whatsoever.

5. However, I love to spray paint things, so for my birthday I got three things cheap at yard sales that I can spray paint whatever colors I want.  I am so excited!!

6.  There is no #6.  That’s an old joke from my sci-fi/fantasy/horror group that I was in at college.  I met my husband there, working on the largest student run sci-fi convention in the US (Aggiecon).

7.  I still occasionally go to cons, but not as often as I’d like, due to children & illness.  If I could, I’d go far more often.  Fortunately, my kids are turning out to be just as geeky as are, so I see more cons in my future.

8. One of my favorite possessions: I have an autographed copy of “Children of God” b Mary Doria Russell that is enscribed “For Lisa – Thanks for sharing your drugs! Mary D. Russell.”  For the sake of posterity: she had a bad migraine coming on during a signing and was going to have cancel her reading (which was scheduled for several hours later).  I gave her one of my triptans (I had spectacular insurance at the time & could pop them like candy – ah, the good ol’ days) and saved the day.

9.  I love trees.  Live ones, dead ones, flowered ones, ones with spectacular fall foliage, ones that only have a few sprigs of baby leaves opening.  All of them.  Especially the weird ones.

10. Some of these aren’t ‘new.’ Having blogged/journaled/hosted a newsgroup/whatever for many, many years, coming up with 10 ‘new’ things about me was far too hard to do.  I have apparently spent too much time babbling on the internet.  But enough about me…

**************************************************************************************************************************

And now, the next Fabulous Sugar Doll Blogger Award goes to….. (drum roll, please)…..

1. She started out just the mom of some kid my kid went to pre-k with and now she’s my friend.  🙂

Embracing & Being Embraced by Shanda

2. Another one of those women that God reallyreally wants me to know & grow with:

The Boerger Memoirs by Marissa

3. I don’t even remember how I found her blog (or maybe she found mine?), but we’ve been following each other through the years, over here, over there, wherever our blogs go.  One day I’m going to drive across the state line and go meet her for real, but I already feel like I know her.

Stitch with me by Margaret

4. Everyone I know seems to know her (& love her) and has sent her link my way.  I’ve never met her, but reading her blog is quite often like reading a reflection of my heart

Mamastephf by Stephanie

5. I just really like this informative little blog about a lively college student with RA…

My Bum Thumb by Cari

The Fabulous Sugar Doll Blogger Award
2 thoughts on “A Blog Award!

  1. Okay, this is just getting bizarre – my dad is a math professor too!!!! My mom was also a math professor, but somehow became a computer science professor along the way. Now they are both retired, but they won’t stop going to things with names like “Math Fest,” judging competitions, writing books, etc. I keep telling them they suck at being retired!

    And my dad likes to annoy me by calling me an “applied mathematician!” I have to admit, I’m pretty good at music theory, but still… 🙂

    • That is very freaky. What kind of math does your dad do? Mine does …well, now I’ve just forgotten what it’s called. He used to work exclusively in one area and in the last 15 years he’s switched over to something newish. Wavelets. I don’t know that my dad will ever retire. Or if he did, he’d do exactly like your parents and just keep doing his thing, regardless. 🙂

Comments are closed.