Back on the Health Bandwagon

I’ve had one of those whirlwind kind of months, you know the kind where you aren’t home more than an hour a day and every meal you eat is eaten a) at a fast food place or b) in the car or c) lunchables at a children’s school event.  Between that and all the prednisone I’ve been taking I’ve gained 15 pounds, so I’d like to go back to concentrating on losing that weight and eating more healthily.

 

A few of my friends have benefitted from posting photos of what they’re eating, both in terms of it keeping them on track healthwise and in terms of “hey, remember that you’ve eaten?” (I can’t remember that all the time).

 

So if you’d like to follow along with me for a while, this is what I’ll be doing: one post a day of food choices for the next two weeks.  I’ll do the rest of my food tonight, but leave you with a photo of my breakfast to get you in the mood:

 

p_00071

homemade spinach quiche (heavy on the spinach, made with 2% mozzarella cheese) with strawberries & pineapple and 1% milk

5 thoughts on “Back on the Health Bandwagon

  1. Wren says:

    Great idea to keep yourself motivated and on track to a more mindful, healthy diet. That quiche looks delicious. Maybe you’ll share the recipe?

    It’s tough to stay on track when you’re in a whirlwind. When I know I’m not going to have much time for preparing healthy meals, I make some of the foods ahead of time, like grilling 6 chicken breasts rather than the two I normally would for myself and Mr Wren, then refrigerate or freeze them for eating later. Making healthy soups ahead helps, too, and they can also be frozen in individual servings.

    Wishing you the best of luck!

    • This is not actually awamiba, it is the Husband that made the quiche. Please note that I’m not one that is much for recipies. I’m more of a method cook. Therefore my method for quiche is as follows: Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, pull a frozen pie crust (preferably Ms. Smith’s deep dish), mix one cup of dairy (1% milk is what I use, but you can vary between skim milk and heavy cream depending on your caloric tolerance) with two eggs (large are preferred, but I’ve used medium to no ill effect), place any large pieces into the pie shell (precooked onions, a box of frozen spinach that has been thawed, handful of cheese (your choice of flavor but match to the other ingredients), other cooked veggies, precooked meat), stir up egg dairy with any liquid flavor enhancements you would like (salsa works great here) making sure to add spices and herbs at this stage (mmmmm nutmeg), slowly pour the egg/dairy mixture into the shell, cook until it is just barely set (depending on the ingredients this could be as few as 30 minutes or as long as 60), pull an cool slightly to serve warm or cool completely and then reheat in the microwave for an easy breakfast.

      Yes I know I use way too many parentheses (those who don’t punctuate can throw semicolons).

      • This is the awamiba/Lisa person again. Sadly, I use just as many parentheses as you do, my love. Always have. Commas,too.

        Also, you sound just like AB. Have you realized that? I’m giggling now.

Comments are closed.