Tea causes RA?!

Contrary to everything I’ve read in the past, a new study has shown that female tea drinkers are more likely to get Rheumatoid Arthritis than non-tea-drinkers.  In fact, drinking any tea at all leaves you 40% more likely to get RA, and if you drink around 4 cups a day (like me) you are 78% more likely to get RA.  What kind of craziness is that?  For more info, go here (link takes you to uk.news.yahoo.com).  I’ll update when I find something more scientific.

Edited to add: here’s a link to an article at Medical.net

Lots & lots of abstracts of papers at the EULAR conference in Rome.

3 thoughts on “Tea causes RA?!

    • Welcome Alexis! 🙂

      Apparently nothing is safe. I read another article today that said that we all apparently should have drank more alcohol, that would have warded off the RA. My husband and I sat in the kitchen and drank wine to that, giggling madly to ourselves.

      Maybe I’ll just cancel it all out and have a hot toddy! Whee!

      (I have made a quick visit to your blog, by the way, and LOVE it. Especially the photos and the part about someone needing Red Velvet cupcakes at 10:15am. 🙂 )

  1. Why is it when we think we have been making the healthier decision, some study comes up turns everything upside down. I have been drinking several glasses of green iced tea instead of soda or coffee for years.

    I think that I am going to forget that article even exists!

Comments are closed.