I know, I know….

….you’d nearly forgotten I blogged here.  I had as well.  I keep meaning to blog more, but mostly kept coming up with the same non-answers and/or depressing news, so I stopped blogging entirely.

I have been having the bad days again, though.  I put myself on a 10 day steroid taper, as per the doctors instructions for Times of Necessity.  The steroids made me glad to be alive again (and hungry as all get out.  I ate and ate and ate.  One day I got sick.  It was so not a good day, but it reminded me to be more careful.  Learning is always good, right?).

School started for the kids back in mid-August, which meant I did lots of shopping and resting and shopping some more.  Then PTA stuff started back up.  I’m homeroom parent coordinator, so I’ve spent lots of time making a database of which parent is willing to help with which activity for which grade (as well as all the contact info, which flummoxes me a bit because the school already has most of that info in a database somewhere; why must I copy it?).  I started volunteering a couple hours a week in the school library helping check in and out while the librarian teaches classes.  I also help out with shelving (I bring in my own kneeling pad & am allowed to scoot around in the wheeled chair when my knees are bad) and in the computer lab.  It’s more fun and life-affirming than you can imagine.  My husband thought it might wear me out, but it actually has been energizing me because it gives me a couple hours out of my own head.  Plus I get to talk to kids about books!  What could be better?!

Other things: I seem to be done with the sinus infections for now, despite living in the Land O’ Big Fires (seriously, if you looked at a map of Texas there’s a ring of fire around my town) and woah-allergies.  I do have a staph infection (probably mrsi, pending lab tests, according to Dr. H.) of a wound that I thought was just a blemish.  I got it the first day I used the machines at a new gym.  (They now have bleach wipes available)  More antibiotics, yay.  Just what every girl wants, right?  The good news is that the antibiotics will also save me from the pneumonia that the doctor thought it likely I might get due to the stress of the lungs from all the fires (apparently I was on The List of the Immune-deficient.  Also so much yay.)  Bad news: more yogurt eating.  I used to LOVE yogurt.  Now it’s like a more flavorful medicine.  I hate that “they’ve” made something as yummy as yogurt seem bad.  *sigh*

Other things: my insurance/pharmacy plan seems not to love my blood pressure medicine, so I’ve spent a vast amount of time on the website/and/or/phone trying to figure that out.  If I jump through all the right hoops in all the right order I can get it practically free (<4/month), but no one wants to tell you that up front.  You have to spend gobs of money and time on the phone (we don’t have a landline any more so any time on the phone=money spent) to find out anything and ususally half that time is spent on a call system that says “I’m sorry, I didn’t quite catch that.  What did you mean to say?”  which I find infuriating.  If they’d just use a person instead of a computer, they’d understand that I wanted to talk to a person in ther first place.

More other things: the temperature has finally dropped from a daily high of 105 to something more like 95. Oh what a difference 10 degrees makes in a day.  In the mornings I feel so much like a regular person.  The van is easy to drive.  My shoulders are down.  My body is stiff, but not achy.  It is such a goodness.  In the afternoon I no longer feel like deadness personified, but merely hot & sweaty.  I can make the kids a snack myself, rather than telll them what to get out.  Love, love, love it!  I cannot even express how much better it feels.  Just a thousand, million times better on the good days.

2 thoughts on “I know, I know….

  1. Sounds like you’ve been busy! As long as the kids don’t cough on you, time spent volunteering at the school would be fun 🙂

    Insurance: mine has a website and I can email them questions. They never understand the first time, but it’s way easier than waiting on hold and working my way to a live body. Just a thought. Don’t know if your insurance has that option or not.

    Yogurt: you can buy (in the pharmacy) acidophilus tablets to go with your antibiotics, thereby skipping the yogurt.

    Heat: it would be really nice if we could average things out a bit. It’s 26 here right now and I wouldn’t mind a day or two of 95.

    • I keep tissues and hand sanitizer close at hand when the kids are nearby, oh yes I do. So far we haven’t hit heavy cold season quite yet.

      Insurance: I will check that out. I hadn’t thought about emailing them. Silly me.

      Heat: It keeps going up and down and down and up. Last week it got down to 36 at night. This week it’s back to the 70’s at night. It’s been weird, wacky weather.

Comments are closed.