What happens after I push Publish

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.
–Ernest Hemingway

In an ideal world, I’d have time to go back and check the post to make sure that everything looks all right and tweak it before anyone notices any weirdnesses.  Not necessarily misspellings, but strange phrasings, incomplete thoughts, and paragraphs that have no point.  I don’t usually have time for all that, though, as I’m usually blogging first thing in the morning while the kids are watching a bit of TV and eating cereal.  What generally happens is that I get interrupted 17,000 times and really need to check things, but I don’t. I hit publish, the blog itself crossposts to twitter and facebook for me, and off it goes into the ether.  After that I obsess a bit about whether there are comments or not (one day I found a pile of them from a couple weeks ago that hadn’t come across in my email notifications and was horrified that I hadn’t gotten to comment back) and what that means.

Why blog in the mornings when it’s hectic?  Because I have to do it first thing in the morning or I will never get to it.  Sure, I spend a bunch of time checking email or facebook throughout the day, but that is little dribs and drabs of time when I’m waiting for something else to be done (water to boil, dryer to stop, etc) and not Dedicated Writing Time. Also I tend not to obsess so much after I hit Publish when I write in the morning because I have to run off and through on clothes to take the kids to school. 🙂

This post was written as part of NHBPM – 30 health posts in 30 days: http://bit.ly/vU0g9J

