Teach a Class

Today’s prompt wants me to teach a class on something I’m great at.  Hmm.  I’m good at many things, but none jump out at me as things you can just babble about on the internet.  If I came to your house, I could show you how to set up your TV & assorted nonsense super fast, but that is so individualized that I can’t just post that here.  But that’s one of the things that I do well: putting things together & making them work.  It’s just something I grok that my parents do not, so I’m in charge of for my extended family.  I’m also great at putting together furniture from a box, as long as I have someone (or some special tool) on hand to do the tightening of the screws.  I’m also good enough with computers that I troubleshoot for family and friends and random strangers in coffeeshops.  I’m decent at scrapbooking and have taught classes on that while I was a Creative Memories consultant.  I’ve also taught classes on “how to be a good volunteer” for a couple different places I’ve volunteered.   The thing of it is that standing up in front of people and talking terrifies me.  Speaking in group situations does, too.  In fact, playgroup is a bit of a stretch for me, as there’s a mom there I don’t know well yet, and I’m less likely to speak up when she’s there.

 

So this prompt “teach a class” has rattled my brain this morning.  If I had time, I’d teach you something.  Instead I must head out and do some family commitment that won’t wait another minute (people are tapping feet at me right now.)

 

This post was written as part of NHBPM – 30 health posts in 30 days: http://bit.ly/vU0g9J

