Quotes

Today we’re supposed to pick a quote and write about it.  Now I like quotes A LOT and so I’m finding this one hard.  When I was about 12 my parents gave me Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations and I absolutely adore it.  I’ve read it cover to cover.  What to choose, what to choose!?!  I’m just going to tell you a bunch that I like.  🙂

 

Here’s my favorite quote about experience:  “A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.”  Mark Twain, of course.  I love his descriptions of things. 

 

My favorite quote on friendship: “Friendship needs no words – it is solitude delivered from the anguish of loneliness.” Dag Hammarskjold.  I’ve looked him up on wikipedia, as I had no idea who he was.  A Swedish diplomat. 

 

“Libraries are not made, they grow” Augustine Birrell.  Boy howdy, do they!  (I’m not sure where I picked up the phrase “boy howdy,” but I’ve been using it a lot lately.

 

…and now my husband is here and I must away. Today is a busy, busy day.  So much laundry. Smile

