Happy holidays

Despite all the crazy, I did have a good Christmas holiday. 🙂

My friend thought she might be in labor, so we headed down a bit early.  I wore my wrist braces a lot.  She didn’t end up having the baby right away, so we did get a pre-baby visit in, which was lovely, as it was practically my only break that week.  She ended up having an emergency C-section and everyone was fine, completely fine.  I got to visit the baby twice before I got sick.  He’s the cutest little thing (outside of my own babies and my other best friends babies, of course, they are all equally cute!).  His nickname is “owl” and since I spent the week helping my mom finish her shopping, I tried 8 stores trying to find a stuffed owl for a boy (found a couple for girls, found lots of ceramic and jewelry ones, but nothing soft for boys after 8 stores) and ended up finding one in the hospital gift shop while waiting for our other (slightly late) friend to show up for a visit.  My mind boggled at that.  It was almost funny!

So, the rest of the holiday… I was lucky in that my sister and dad were willing to hang out at the skateboard park with my kids a couple times on the nice days we were there.  I went once with them, as well, but there are no benches and everyplace that wasn’t the actual skateboard areas was muddy.  The other several days it was cold and rainy, so we didn’t do much outside of watching TV, building things out of tinkertoys, and trying to get everything to connect to the home network (I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this before, but I am the Tech Support Gal for my family).  The rest of the time there was spent in feeding perpetually hungry boys, preparing presents, opening them, and then playing with them.

 

Eventually we drove home, but by then my nose had started dripping and my ears started stopping up and I was dizzy the last hour on the road.  Went home and slept for a few hours before attempting anything else.  Ate dinner and went straight back to bed.  The next day my other best friend drove down and brought me two giant bags of clothing in various sizes.  I am appalled to have to say this, but some of them were from her Quite Large era and those are the ones that fit me right now.  😦  But there are quite a few in sizes smaller that I am totally coveting (which makes no sense, really, as they are mine now) and I’m hoping that that will help encourage me into the next stage of the weight loss challenge.  If nothing else, wearing the “Quite Large” clothes and seeing them on me in the mirror will cause me to double take anytime I’m in the bathroom.  Anyway, the kids all got to play in the back yard for the first time in ages, so it was a nice visit.  I was just super tired afterwards.

 

So yesterday I declared a pajama day.  I know that quite a lot of people spend quite a lot of days in their pajamas, but I am totally not that person (unless it’s Christmas, which is totally different).  I just don’t feel like a real person if I spend the day sitting around in PJ’s, so I don’t do it.  (All of the rest of you can do so and be perfectly happy!  YAY!  Happy!)  So since I was still a Sicky Baby, we all spent the day in our jammies and hung out.  We watched A LOT of TV and played a lot of games and I even got a bit of stuff done on various tiny projects around the house.

 

Today’s been another quiet day, but we declared a Less Screen Time day (not entirely devoid of it, but attempting that), and spent a bunch of time outdoors – it’s 66 degrees out there today- and got some more around-the-house projects done.  The socks, they are matched.  All of them.  (well, not counting the ones I got fed up with and threw away – hey everything in the house is clean and I checked under all the beds or got boys to do so!)

 

Tomorrow we go out to my husband’s sister’s house for their parents Annual Anniversary Dinner (the remodeling of their own house is still not complete).  New Years Eve we’re doing church stuff most of the day, then partying with my family that evening.  New Years Day my mother-in-law, sister-in-law, and I are all traveling to Dallas to see Les Mis.  We’re so.very.excited!  🙂

 

So now you are all caught up!  I’ll see y’all in the new year!

 

3 thoughts on “Happy holidays

  1. Finally got around to reading. You had a busy “vacation!” It’s funny, but I’m with you on the PJ’s. It irritates me normally to stick around in my PJ’s throughout the day, unless it’s a declared pajama day or I’m deathly ill.

Comments are closed.