Rheumatologist appointment

After I spent yesterday perusing the blog carnival about pain scales, I came to the conclusion that a) my pain level, regardless of scale, is usually only about 2 or 3 in a few joints, with occasional forays into 4s and 5s when I’m in a flare.  So when I had my 6 month check-in with the rheumatologist today, I decided that instead of asking for the next big gun treatment, I was going to ask for another stop-gap measure, something I’d read about on other people’s blogs that had never been offered to me: a pain relieving, anti-inflammatory gel.

 

I didn’t start off with that, of course.  I told him about my last few months, about how I only flare when I’ve got big things going on (of the stressful variety. ie. Thanksgiving or Christmas) or I do something exceptionally stupid (moving furniture, driving long distances, trying to do all the Christmas crafting in one week, etc.).  I told him about my prednisone tapers and how they’d helped.  I told him about my in-between days when I’m feeling all right and the days that I can barely move my fingers and I’m not fine.  He told me my next option was the IV drugs and physical therapy.  I said “No, thank you” and then mentioned the gel.  He said the only reason they hadn’t offered it was that it doesn’t always work and that it was kind of expensive.  “More expensive than IV drugs and physical therapy?”  No, not at all.

 

And so that’s what I’m doing.  More prednisone when I’m flaring (with a phone call in to the office to let them know), anti-inflammatory gel for the in between pain, working on my PT at home from my PT Folder o’ Goodness, and follow up in 6 months.

4 thoughts on “Rheumatologist appointment

  1. That’s actually kind of cheerful. There’s something you can do, something new to try, and it *might* even work. That’s an amazingly positive outlook for this.

    I wonder if there is anything you can preemptively do when you know something big is coming up. You know how you can give kids Tylenol before they get their shots? I wonder if there’s a treatment you can get *before* some big event so that you don’t experience the major flares and have to treat afterward. Hmmm…

    • I like to try to stay positive. And to not run out of options. I hate the idea of running out of options.

      I think in the future, I’m going to just “let go” and not do all the stressful stuff. I need to work on saying “no” to things that don’t fall under the category of “important” or “necessary to human life.” Really I just need to start saying “no” to my mom.

Comments are closed.