Results!

“Providence has its appointed hour for everything. We cannot command results, we can only strive.”

–Mahatma Gandhi

Between last night and today I got all the results I need for a while.  Here’s what it boils down to:

1. I’m not having seizures.

2. When I got taken off all the pain meds cold turkey, it a) caused rebound headaches and b) made my blood pressure go up.  The neurologist should have known that and shouldn’t have done it that way.

3.  The antihistamines I’ve been on for the last decade off and on and off and on and off and on…those are NOT GOOD FOR ME.  “Why were you taking them?!” said the doctor.  “YOU told me to!” said I.  “I did this to you?!” said the horrified doctor.  I just nodded.  “Oh my.”   The doctor told me that in the combination of meds I was taking, we can account for the dizziness, the memory lapses, and the blood pressure raising.

4. I need to take better care of myself.  Period.  I should have been tracking my blood pressure and my headaches and my dizzy spells and I should have gone in to see the doctor as these things were happening, not just after a few weeks or months of them occurring.  I need to rest more, too.  Yes, yes, I know this.  I’m just never convinced that what’s going on is all that bad, so I put things off.  Also, resting is for old people and babies.  Well, that’s what my brain says, anyway.  It’s wrong.

So in the end, here’s what I’m doing:

1. Stopping the antihistamines.  Throwing them in the trash. Perhaps stomping on them.

2. Starting a nose spray.  Start breathing again.  Breathing more and better will relieve some of the dizziness and help me think more clearly. Who knew?

3. Be more careful with my pain meds.  Making sure I cycle through them properly instead of only taking the naproxen, even if the rheumatologist says I can do it that way.  The neurologist says that way lies the path of the headaches.  (Although maybe I shouldn’t listen to any of the doctors, really.  Cause where has that gotten me?  Thousands of dollars of testing and insanity.)

4.  Call the doctor back in two weeks with more blood pressure stats and let him know if my nose spray helps me breathe.

5.  (It pains me to say this) RESTING MORE.  (I just spent 30 minutes on the couch watching repeats of Downton Abbey.  It was glorious.)

So there you have it.  Results.

One thought on “Results!

  1. I’m so glad they figured out what was going on with you! I know you were frustrated and frightened–who wouldn’t be? Now it’s time for healing. This you can do.

    Resting when you feel like you have so much to do and not enough time to do it is hard. I absolutely understand how you feel about it. And yet … and yet. To be well, to be healthy, to enjoy your life and have the energy to smile and play and work and do, you simply must rest. Make it one of the things you HAVE to do, as important as any of the other things you do each and every day.

    Wishing you a joyful and yes, restful weekend. 😉

Comments are closed.