Mom update, etc.

“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.

“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times.

But that is not for them to decide.

All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” 
― J.R.R. TolkienThe Fellowship of the Ring

 

So after a day of nonsense and my mom getting worse, we finally called the paramedics.  They took her to the hospital and she’s now in the ICU.  After two solid days of testing, we found out that a) she was about an inch away from lapsing into a diabetic coma, b) she’s diabetic, c) she has a bladder infection, c) she’s also got strep infection on the outside of her spine, and d) she was very nearly in sepsis.   These things were all a big surprise.  It was several days before she woke up enough to start speaking coherently.  She just started getting real food today (liquids only).

IMG_1092

I spent the first large chunk of the week trying to entertain my kids, cleaning the house, doing the laundry, etc.  Then my in-laws came to get the kids, so now my days are spent largely going to the hospital and hanging out with my mom and dad there, then coming back to the house to do laundry, prepare and eat meals, then clean up after them, and sleep.  Needless to say I’m exhausted.  Everyone’s exhausted.

IMG_1091

In other news, after a brief respite after the shots kicked in, I’m now flaring again.  My request for new meds was denied by the insurance company.  The rheumatologist’s office did an appeal for me, but I haven’t heard back yet.  Also, my new dishwasher got lost in transit and is somewhere on the way back from Washington, DC.  And a fish died.  And at my parents house the A/C went out, one of the sprinkler lines is leaking, the cable/internet/phone went out, and my dad lost a tooth & had to have a root canal & crown put back on. To say that the last week has been CRAZY would be an understatement.

My mom’s going to be in the ICU through tomorrow at the least, then in the main hospital for maybe a couple more weeks.  After that she’ll be in a nursing care facility for about 6 weeks for more IV antibiotics and physical therapy.  My sister and I are trying to arrange our schedules so my dad isn’t on his own for more than a couple days at a time.  Which is really hard because she just got  a promotion at work and can’t really take a lot of time off.  I have several friends moving away this summer and had a couple of going-away parties and babysitting-so-people-could-pack that I was going to help with.  Plus new fish.  Can’t forget the fish. Also a couple trips for RA related meetups and to see friends and family vacation and substitute teacher training and PTA secretary training.  Nick is supposed to be away from home a lot this summer for work, too.  The anxiety attack I’ve been waiting for started up this afternoon and I ended up walking home from the hospital (only a 25 minute walk, but hot in the middle of the day).

I’m sure there’s something else that needs to be said, but I think I’ve rambled enough for the day.  aie!

2 thoughts on “Mom update, etc.

  1. Wren says:

    Hmmm, Lisa. I don’t think you’ve got nearly enough to do–and certainly not enough responsibility! Why in the world are you having an anxiety attack?

    Honestly–WOW. I can’t imagine how you’re managing it all and staying sane. Of COURSE you’re exhausted. And flaring. I wish there was a way to send a big whopping dose of energy and strength and humor through the ether, Lisa. If there was, I’d be sending it to you right now.

    I hope your sister will be able to jump in and help you soon. In the meantime, I’m wishing you a good night’s sleep and hoping that you’ll be able to relax now and then during the upcoming days. You so need to take care of yourself, too.

    My thoughts are with you, LIsa.

Comments are closed.